Memory card issues/corrupt files

(Bethany Plonski) #1

Hello,
Not sure if this is a common thing, but just thought I’d ask to see if anyone has had a similar experience. I’m using a Nikon D70, and ever since I started shooting in raw format, I’ve had sporadic issues with the image files being corrupt or unreadable. Sometimes I only lose a few images from the batch, and every now and then the entire batch is ruined.

I’m not sure if the problem is the camera, the card, or how I am uploading and deleting files.

I tried the most obvious fix first - buying a new card. That worked for about a week before the same problem started happening again.

Then I found a Nikon forum where someone said that deleting image files through the camera’s delete function (rather than deleting through the computer) could be the problem. I followed their advice, and at first it did help me reduce the number of photos lost per shoot. This weekend though, I took over 200 photos and was only able to salvage about 30 of them. There doesn’t seem to be any pattern to which files are corrupt and which are usable.

I do format the card in camera each time I start shooting, and I have tried uploading the files through a card reader and directly from camera to USB with the same results. If it matters, the card I am using is a San Disk Compact Flash Ultra 16 GB/50MB/s.

I’d love to hear if anyone has had a similar problem or advice about how I can tell for sure if the problem is with the camera or the card.

Thank you for reading :slight_smile:
Bethany

(Berckmans Peter) #2

Had one time a small issue with pics in raw. But after deleting it was fine . Maybe a faster card can help. You use the 50M/s,maybe try the 90. It was reccommended to me and works fine.

(Ram Ya) #3

I was going to recommend formatting the card only through camera but I see you are already doing it.